It’s Boxing Day for our friends to the north of us and on Tuesday for those across the pond.

We received this thoughtful note from a Canadian customer on Christmas Day:

Good morning and Merry Christmas!

I certainly hope no one is reading this email today but I hope someone reads it soon, because in it is glad tidings of joy from a very satisfied customer!

I am writing from Canada, where not only could I not find the bed I wanted, no company could even promise me a Christmas delivery for any bed they had on their websites. The only similar bed I found was from Sears Canada, who didn’t have the colour I wanted, and cost TWICE what I paid from you.

When I ordered the Jordan loft bed, I was not promised Christmas delivery either, but I was hopeful that it would arrive at least in time for New Year’s. I was also worried about customs and duty at the border, but Shawna assured me that no customer had ever called back from Canada to complain about the duty.

You can’t imagine my joy when the bed arrived “sain et sauf” (safe and sound) on December 17th!

But it gets better.

Imagine my joy when I saw the boxes and realized that it was the Pulaski made Build-a-Bear bed from the Sears website and I realized that I had saved OVER 2500 dollars!!!

So, now I know why you ship beds to Canada every day.

Thanks again, great customer service from everyone I spoke to at all levels (I did have to import it and fill out a bunch of forms and deal with a customs broker), and even the delivery guy was most helpful when I asked him to indicate on the freight bill that most of the boxes were indeed damaged (I have not opened all the boxes yet so I don’t know if they are damaged, but I did a quick check and I don’t think they are).

So well done, thank you, and I’ll be back 🙂

Louise M Pothier

Montreal

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Boxing Day is a holiday in the United Kingdom and many countries (including Canada) that were once part of the British Empire. The origin of this holiday’s name is not clear. In feudal times in the United Kingdom, the lord of the manor would ‘pay’ people who worked on his land in the past year with boxes practical goods, such as agricultural tools, food and cloth. These were often distributed on the day after Christmas Day. More recently, employers traditionally gave their servants a gift of money or food in a small box on the day after Christmas Day. Some people in Canada still give gifts to people who provide them with services.

Other stories relate to servants being allowed to take a portion of the food left over from the Christmas celebrations in a box to their families and the distribution of alms from the church collection boxes to poor parishioners. These traditions evolved into the Christmas baskets that some employers distribute to their employees during the holiday season at the end of the year.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Totally Kids fun furniture and toys – for boxing day – Bozo Bop Bag.