…Goodnight room
Goodnight moon
Good night cow jumping over the moon
Goodnight light
And the red balloon, but before you head to bed be sure to set your alarm.

Tonight it’s not just a red balloon, but a real red moon.

A total lunar eclipse early Saturday morning (Dec. 10) is expected to offer lucky skywatchers stunning views of a bright red, supersized moon. A total lunar eclipse occurs when the Earth passes between the sun and the moon, casting the moon completely in shadow. The eclipse will start at around 7:45 a.m. EST (4:45 a.m. PST, 1245 GMT), when the shadow of the moon inches across the lunar disk.

If you are lucky, you may view the moon  fully engulfed in a glow that could range from light orange to blood red.

For folks farther east, the skywatching website Slooh will be broadcasting a free, real-time feed of the total lunar eclipse from Australia, Asia and Hawaii beginning at 8:00 a.m. EST (5:00 a.m. PST, 1300 GMT). Slooh’s three-hour broadcast will allow interested skywatchers to watch online as the total lunar eclipse unfolds in real time.

“Not only will the moon be beautifully red, it will also be inflated by the moon illusion,” NASA scientists explained. “For reasons not fully understood by astronomers or psychologists, low-hanging moons look unnaturally large when they beam through trees, building and other foreground objects.”

Courtesy of Denise Chow

With Moon In My Room the moon will be close to you in your room every night. The moon is the perfect foray into astronomy. Its phases teach us about the forces of our universe, its features tell us about the origin of our planet, and it’s just plain cool to look at. Moon in My Room brings the beauty and wonder of this celestial body right into your child’s bedroom. This remote controlled, glow-in-the-dark “mini moon” is contoured and textured to feature an authentically detailed lunar moonscape. A built in light-sensor illuminates a room when it gets dark and shows 12 phases of the moon. The phases can be controlled manually or set to rotate on an automatic function to change every five second, so that kids can follow the moon in the sky with the moon in their room. In order to save on batteries, the light shuts off after an hour.

Good night moon!